2014 Peter Cutino Awards Banquet

SAVE THE DATE – Saturday, May 31st
Call 415.345.5107 or email athletics@olyclub.com for details.

1999 Club President, Ed Rudloff Jr., sponsored the first event and saw it to fruition. The Cutino Award has now solidified its presence as a nationally known, collegiate athletic award. Since Peter Cutino’s passing in 2004, his family has continued to support the award. His wife Louise, daughter Anna and son Paul have attended the event every year and helped with the awards presentations.

Past Recipients:
1999 Bernice Orwig, USC & Sean Kern, UCLA 
2000 Aniko Pelle, USC & Sean Kern, UCLA 
2001 Coralie Simmons, UCLA & Tony Azevedo, Stanford
2002 Brenda Villa, Stanford & Tony Azevedo, Stanford
2003 Jackie Frank, Stanford & Tony Azevedo, Stanford
2004 Moriah Van Norman, USC & Tony Azevedo, Stanford
2005 Natalie Golda, UCLA & Juraj Zatovic, USC
2006 Lauren Wenger, USC & John Mann UC Berkeley
2007 Kelly Rulon, UCLA & Tim Hutten UC Irvine
2008 Courtney Mathewson from UCLA & J.W. Krumpholz  USC
2009 Kami Craig, USC & J.W. Krumpholz, USC
2010 Kami Craig, USC & Ivan Rackov UC Berkeley
2011 Annika Dries, Stanford & Joel Dennerly, USC
2012 Kiley Neushul, Stanford & Balazs Erdelyi, UOP
2013 Melissa Seidemann, Stanford


Annual Trans Tahoe Relay

JULY 19, 2014 // TransTahoeRelay.com //
The Trans Tahoe Relay Swim began back in 1931 when Myrtle Huddleston swam from Glenbrook to Tahoe Tavern Pier in 23 hours and 53 Minutes. In 1955, Norm Peterson of San Francisco swam from Cave Rock to Meeks Bay (9 miles) in 6 hours and 43 minutes. These pioneers paved the way for the 900 plus swimmers who today gather every July to swim 11.5 miles from Sand Harbor, Nevada to Skylandia Beach, California to participate in the Trans-Tahoe Relay Swim.

In photo: Anne O'Dea, John O'Dea, Eric Schleenlein, Joe Dietrich, Kate Christensen, Lee Haris, John Taggart (our skipper), John Christian

The Olympic Club Trans Tahoe Relay is one of the most unique open water swimming events in the world. In 1976 Olympic Club members decided to challenge each other to a team race across Lake Tahoe. Soon after, other clubs were invited to join this annual "Invitational Relay" event. Last year the race attacted over 1134 competitors from all over the country. The Trans Tahoe Relay has become one of the largest open water swims in the world. Promoting team comradery and spirited competition between swimming clubs and other groups and organizations, it is now seen as a landmark of open water events. 

This year a team came from Australia won the 36th Annual Trans Tahoe Relay. They finished in three hours and thirteen minutes, with a nearly seven-minute lead over the next team. The Australian team, Tattersalls Masters, consisted of Peter Thiel, Joey Pedroza, Alexander Studzinski, Codie Grimsey and his brother Trent Grimsey. Over 14 Olympic Club member teams also competed. The top Olympic Club team consisted of three men, John Dorr, Matt Benoit, and Gary Marshall, along with our top three women, Brooke Bishop, Danielle Becks, and Erin Reilly. They finished first in their division with a 3:51.39. Also, finishing first in the men's 240 division with a 3:54.17, The Olympic Club men's team consisted of Todd Arris, Bob Childs, Sean Joy, Matthew Davie, Mike Keck and Michael McWhorter. The Olympic Club women's team finished 3rd in their division with a 4:09.22, and that team consisted of Shanna Guzman, Cara Davidoff, Jessie Gertz, Lindsey Smart, Lynn Jolly, and Naoko Watanabe—a new incoming member. It was yet another perfect day, with excellent weather, and no one even could complain that the water was too cold. For results, click here.

Left to right: Ridge Grimsey, Alex Studzinski, Peter Thiel, Codie Grimsey and Trent Grimsey